Tit for Tote

I envy those girls who have a collection of bags and purses.

I picture them in my eyes, standing infront of massive piles of options every morning, and hand picking just the most perfect-est choice to go with the rest of their anssamble.

I imagine them knowing exactly what they need to carry with them for the day, you choosing the most suitable cointaner, that will both host everything confortably, and still won’t be too big and annoying.

It’s such a classy adiction in my eyes. Shows for so much taste and fashion sense.

I envy those girls.

Cause I’m nothing like that…

The whole thought of switching between purses brings me the chills… The idea of me needing to remember all the stuff I need to move from one bag to another is just uncoprehandable… And the few times I did try to commit to more than one purse at a time, ended with me locked outside my apartment holding a fine for taking the bus with no valid ticket…

That’s why finding the perfect bag is so important to me. I need it to be just right. Not too big. Not too small. It needs to be pretty, but not too fancy. It needs to have a place for everything, but to also be highly accessable. It needs to be comfortable as heel, and go well with whatever I’m wearing.

Demanding little thing, am I not? 😉

That’s how I’ve found this tote on pinterest, and fell totally in love with it!

865e4b3b242446c3ec9d318912ca4d62

Cheri from I’m a Momma – Hear me Roar posted in her lovely blog the full tutorial for this Tohoku Tote.

I editted the pattern, added a few featured that I find important, and basically created what for me is the perfect everyday bag.

Summer Bag

Summer Bag

Inside out, showing the pockets for a cell phone, a pen and other sfuff

Inside out, showing the pockets for a cell phone and other sfuff

A zippered pocked and key chain holder

A zippered pocked and key chain holder

Since that first attempt I made this bag five more times, each time adding fun extras and implementing improvement I picked up.

It makes for a great present that is, without a failure, deeply appreciate by whoever gets it, and it’s really fun to make, as the creative approtunity to add a personal touch to it are countless.

DSCF3512

I give those bags so quickly that I don’t have pictures of all the differant ones I’ve made, but here is my own one, enjoying our lunch at the V&A’s lawn…

5 thoughts on “Tit for Tote

  1. I had the same problem as you whenever I swapped bags, now I have a pocketed pouch with ‘essentials’ in it so that I can quickly transfer it from bag to bag. Saves getting locked out of the house!

  2. I permanently cured hubby of ever wanting to go shopping with me for purses. He suggested I make my own, which I did . . . many, many times. 😆 I love this one you made; I’m a sucker for pockets, the more the better!

  3. I don’t believe my hubby had ever suffered from that illness, so no curing was needed… 😉
    Do you always sew the same purse, or do you use a different pattern every time?

Leave a Reply

